Canada Temperance Act.—Under Parts I and II of this Act, provision is made for the prohibition of the sale of intoxicating liquors in counties and cities. The last vote taken under these parts was in the County of Compton, Quebec, on April 28, 1930, in response to a petition for the repeal of the Act in that county. The vote resulted in favour of the repeal, which became effective on June 14, 1930. Part III of the Act relates to penalties and prosecutions, Part IV to the prohibition of the importation and exportation of intoxicating liquors into and from the provinces, while Part V enacts provisions in aid of provincial legislation for the control of the liquor traffic.

## Section 8.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police (formerly the Royal Northwest Mounted Police) are distributed throughout the Dominion with headquarters at Ottawa. It is a Dominion constabulary whose duties, owing to the fact that the provinces are responsible for the enforcement of law and order, are somewhat different from those of most police forces. In addition, however, to its strictly Dominion duties, by an arrangement approved by Order in Council on April 14, 1928, and coming into effect on June 1, 1928, the Force has assumed the enforcement of law and order in Saskatchewan outside of urban centres which maintain their own municipal forces. The arrangement, which is for a term of 7 years from 1928, is substantially similar to that which obtained in the two provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan from their establishment in 1905 until 1917. As a result there are now nearly 94 detachments in the province, with officers and other ranks to the number of nearly 255 exclusive of those in the depot.

The Dominion duties of the Force as distinct from its provincial duties in Saskatchewan fall under the following general headings: (1) the enforcement of Dominion Statutes; (2) the enforcement of the Criminal Code in the Northwest Territories (including the Arctic), the Yukon, the national parks and Indian reserves, and also when Dominion Departments are the aggrieved parties; (3) the enforcement (by special agreement) of provincial laws, etc., in national parks in British Columbia and Alberta; (4) investigations for other Departments; (5) police assistance and protection rendered to Dominion Departments, provincial authorities, other police forces, etc. The assistance rendered is of the most varied kinds, including aid to the Customs in preventing smuggling, to Inland Revenue in suppressing illegal stills, to the Department of Health in combating the traffic in narcotic drugs, to the Secretary of State in verifying the statements made by applicants for naturalization, to the Post Office in detecting frauds upon and robberies of the mails, to the Department of Indian Affairs in protecting the Indians, etc. Aid is occasionally given to Provincial Governments in the maintenance of law and order.

The Arctic work is becoming increasingly important; there are now in the Arctic and sub-Arctic regions (exclusive of the Yukon) 35 detachments with 118 all ranks, or about 9 p.c. of the entire strength. These detachments include posts on Ellesmere, North Devon, Baffin and Victoria islands, as well as along the coasts of the Arctic ocean and Hudson bay; one (Bache Peninsula) is within eleven degrees of the North Pole, and a powerful auxiliary power schooner, the St. Roch, employed in the Arctic ocean, ranks as a detachment. Every winter long patrols are made in these regions, the islands west of Ellesmere island (Axel Heiberg, etc.) being visited periodically. Contrasted with this is detective work in the urban communities in running to earth counterfeiters, narcotic drug dealers, robbers of the mails and others of the more dangerous types of evil-doers.